top of page
搜尋
作家相片yuyiny2

Final Reflection

Transformative Learning

In this course, I learned several writing and reading skills. For example, reading with purpose, predicting the article based on the title, and pausing to make annotations. We have to read an article or watch one video a week for the first few weeks. These assignments need us to make annotations with reading strategies provided by the Connect, and this also helps me to develop reading habits. Annotation is one of the best ways to recall the article after finishing reading, as well as connect with our lives. In addition, this course let me learn some new things, and also have a deeper understanding of many facts. This class gave me my first exposure to podcasts and my first website, this is an interesting experience and makes the writing class much fun. Besides, the course question is also my first time to relate Disney films with social constructions and gender problems, and also let me know the process of Disney films’ developments. I also watched many Disney films in these ten weeks, and the articles about gender roles presented in Disney films. Therefore, when I look back at this class in the future, the first thing I remember might be the course question.


Problems & Plan

Collaboration always plays a vital role in our life, whether in our study or in future work. We also have a podcast project in this course which need to work with our group mates, this is a good chance for us to improve communication skills. We have to schedule the meeting by ourselves, and also discuss for the topic. But I think I should participate and talk more during the meetings; this is one side I need to improve and do better next time. Another problem is time issue, I always start to do the homework until the last minutes. Sometimes I thought the assignment don’t need too much time to finish and I start it on Sunday, but it actually takes some time to do. Starting to do the assignments late is a bad habit for all courses, it will make me feel rushed and the quality of my work is not guaranteed. I always tell myself that I have to start the assignment few days before the due day, but it is still hard for me to do that. This is a serious problem, and I should pay more attention to time management.


Hope things can get better in next quarter, and thanks for Dr. Haas and happy to see you guys here.



10 次查看2 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

2 Comments


Chris Hu
Chris Hu
Mar 15, 2021

Hey Christy,

Thank you for the peer review you did on my portfolio. You remind me to add some caption below my picture really helps me better create my pages. Also, I have the same problems with you. Finish up every assignment on time is kind of difficult when there are 16 hours time difference between China and the U.S. So I think start early is really important and it is better than start at the last minute because you have more time to modify things and your time will be more flexible. Good luck in Writing 39B.

Like

vvu4
Mar 15, 2021

Hi Christy! I totally agree with you that doing the annotations was a transformative experience because it allowed us to better connect with the text, which made us more engaged readers. I also noticed that it was difficult for you at times to join the conversation. I wished you spoke more because when you did the project was easier and more enjoyable. I wish you the best and I hope we keep in contact.

Like
bottom of page