top of page
搜尋
作家相片yuyiny2

Start A New Writing Journey

Hi everyone! My name is Yuying (Christy) Yu, I’m from China Shaoxing. This is my second year at the University of California Irvine, and my major is business economics. I like to listen music and travel with my friends in my free time, and I would like to taste dessert or eat hot pot when I was sad.

The last writing course I took is Academic English 20C, I learned how to write a research paper correctly. For example, this course let me know the structure of a research paper, and how to build up a research question. Besides, I also learned how to relate the findings with other different research papers and the importance of citation

when we use someone else’s thoughts.


There is still a lot of space for me to improve my writing, especially the vocabulary and grammar. The limitation of my vocabulary is a big problem, although I usually try to use variable vocabularies. In addition, grammar is also one of my weakness, I often make grammar mistakes when I talk with somebody since there is not too much time for me to think.


When taking the Language and Grammar Diagnostic at Connect, I found how to use punctuation in a correct way is also a big problem for me. The result is pretty much what I thought it would be, I still need to take a lot of time to practice. For instance, I have no idea about when to use semicolon. I know we need to use italic when we write the name of an article, but I am not sure if it is necessary to use italic for the title of a song or something else.


This writing 39A class will focus on the question about Disney films and gender problems, and we need to spend plenty of time on reading and writing every week which will help us to improve our communication, reading, and writing skills. Moreover, it is important for us to write in our own word, and it is also helpful if we communicate with our instructor when we have questions. We are going to create a website where our assignments will be displayed, it is a kind of record about our learning process. We will work with our classmates and receive feedbacks from our peers, and we will get a B or higher final grade if we do our assignments with instructor’s requirements.

19 次查看3 則留言

3 Comments


nhienvu1992
Jan 18, 2021

Hey Christy, I also mentioned vocabulary as one of my weakness on my Week 1’s blog. As we make progress in this course, hopefully we can expand our word choices.

Like

Ruihan Wang
Ruihan Wang
Jan 16, 2021

Hi Christy!

I totally agree with your point about AE 20C, since the last writing course for me is also 20C. Also, vocabulary is my biggest problem either, but I don't particularly appreciate memorizing words. The most frequent thing I do when reading is to look up words in a dictionary.

Like

Cuiwen Zhou
Cuiwen Zhou
Jan 15, 2021

Hi, Christy! I also have similar problem with my vocabulary. Sometimes, I have to try really hard to avoid redundancy and clichéd in my writing. I do agree with you that we need to expand our vocabulary.

Like
bottom of page